Teach Abroad - South Korea, Teach Abroad Programs

First Stop, Go Global Expo in Toronto; Next Stop, South Korea

by Norman Francis, Greenheart Travel English Teacher in South Korea

norman-francis

My name is Norman Francis. I am from Toronto, Canada, and a new EPIK ESL Teacher all the way in South Korea. Such a new, life-changing and exciting journey really began in September of 2012, at the Go Global Expo in Toronto when I met Sara Dorsey at the Greenheart Travel booth. I had such a great interest in teaching abroad in Korea, as well as so many questions that I needed to have answered. I must say that the information in which the Greenheart Travel representatives gave me that day really went a long way towards not only providing great insight into what teaching abroad entailed, but also reinforced my interest in committing to teach abroad.

I then went on to complete my TESL certificate in March of 2013, while also getting all of the needed documents (reference letters, police reference checks, etc) and then I sent in my application to Greenheart Travel, and I got a response back asking for an interview. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised as the EPIK program is one of the more reputable programs to teach in Korea with. This just goes to show how getting in your application early can yield results!

I did my first interview through Skype, successfully passed it, then did my second interview with an EPIK representative. I made sure to prepare well by having followed the tips and advice given to me by the Greenheart Travel representatives which obviously proved to be very helpful, as I got an email from them the next day informing me that I was successful and passed the second interview, thus securing my new job! I will never forget how happy and elated I was when I got the news!!

Now I am currently finishing up my orientation, and by the time you read this, I will have already started teaching in my new hometown of Ulsan, South Korea. If it wasn’t for all of the help and advice that I got from the Greenheart Travel team along the way, I wouldn’t be in this beautiful, dynamic country doing something that people only dream of! If anyone is interested in Teaching in Korea, just know that Greenheart Travel is the way to go!

Learn more about how you can teach abroad and visit us at the Go Global Expo in Toronto Sept. 20-21st!

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

