High School - Austria, High School Abroad

First Impressions of Austria; Language, Leather Jackets and a Lovely View

by Sarah Lime, Greenheart Travel High School Student in Austria

host family view

So, after an extremely long journey from Grand Rapids, in which I almost missed my flight from New York JFK to Paris, I have arrived in Österreich. The first thing I did in Austria? I went to the pet store and bought cat and dog food with Katrin, Greenheart Travel’s partner and country manager of STS Austria. I have now been in Austria for about five days and have survived three days of school at BG BRG Mössingerstrasse… Yay! I cannot express my love for this incredibly gorgeous country nor my extremely generous host family. I am fond of the leather jackets the girls at my school wear, and I hope to return to Michigan with some of this European flare.

The language barrier is frustrating (it is very difficult to understand a history lecture in German), but my vocabulary has already expanded quite a bit. My host family has been very encouraging and is eager for me to learn. I hope to add a few words to my vocabulary each day. For example, today I have learned heiß: hot, langweilig: boring, Schwein: pig, Kopt: brain, and Märchen: fairy tale… Really not much commonality between these words.

I have loved every second of every day thus far. And you can’t beat this view.

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “First Impressions of Austria; Language, Leather Jackets and a Lovely View

  1. hahaha…. I am not the coordinator of Greenheart. but the Country mananger of STS Austria

    Posted by Katrin | September 16, 2013, 3:46 am

Leave a Reply

