Volunteer Abroad - Costa Rica, Volunteer Abroad Programs

The First Flight to Costa Rica

by Summer Grandy, Greenheart Travel Volunteer in Costa Rica

I am now on my way to Costa Rica. You would think that since I’m going on this huge journey, I would be feeling more mature but I am feeling younger than ever. I cried like a baby before I made it to security and almost threw a fit while I was boarding. Also, I feel so young next to all these people sitting next to me, almost like a nuisance; so immature and ignorant. Other than that, I am fine.

My friends and family were doing so good at calming me down with funny pictures and uplifting messages. It’s almost as if they could see me having a panic attack in front of all those strangers. I feel so blessed to have all these people wishing me farewell. As soon as the plane took off, I could see why Boise is called the city of trees. You couldn’t see houses, or a lot of buildings, or even many cars. It looked like the only habitants that made this area their home was a very large herd of broccoli. I also could be saying this cause I’m a little hungry.

I cannot wait to see what my final destination looks like, maybe this time it will look like a herd of asparagus. Although I have forgotten what the sign to look for will say, I am confident I will do just fine in Costa Rica. Next flight I will definitely be studying my Spanish notes and dictionary. Thank you to my family, friends, and those who donated to my travel fund for getting me this far.

airplaine

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

