Global Greenheart Initiative, High School - Spain, High School Abroad

Going Above and Beyond While Studying in Spain

By Eleanor Brow, High School Abroad Participant in Spain and Greenheart Travel Club member

Eleanor

Eleanor

When my parents and I chose to go with Greenheart Travel as the company I studied abroad with we chose this partly because of the volunteer options I would be able to participate in. I have volunteered many times in the past and really enjoy helping people in need. I couldn’t wait to come to Spain and volunteer in a whole new country.

After living in my town for a few weeks I started volunteering at a local play production to help build props for a play. The play is about a child who meets a vampire. My first day volunteering there, I used paper mache to cover a huge coffin. It took about three hours and I was extremely happy with my work. The next few times volunteering I helped the stage managers move props around, cleaned up the stage, and just simply made sure the director and actors had what they needed. I am so happy I chose to volunteer with the play production. All the actors are so fun and every week I have so much fun with them. As you can see in this picture we like to be goofy and fun. The thing around me is a tree I built for the play.

Other volunteering I have done while in Spain is at my school. Before coming to Spain I knew I wanted to somehow volunteer with children. I love working with children and every summer I work at a summer camp for kids. I talked to the principle at my school and we worked it out that twice I week I would go to a children’s class in my school and help teach them English. On Tuesdays I teach 10 year-olds and on Thursday I teach 13 year-olds. Every week I come up with new and exciting ways to teach them colors or animals or about random topics in English. In the 13 year-olds class, they know English pretty well and we usually work on pronunciation. I will usually read a passage about some topic in English and they will translate it into Spanish. I also tell them a lot about the USA and the differences between the USA and Spain. I am so lucky to have the opportunity to work with kids in Spain. 

I will continues to volunteer in Spain. Next week I will start volunteering at the Senior Citizens center in my town. I  don’t really know what to expect since I have never worked with old people before but I know it will be a fun new experience. 

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

