Teach Abroad Programs, TEFL

“You’re Taking a TEFL Course on Top of Everything Else?”

By Heather Holding, Greenheart Travel Intern

Heather is taking our Professional 170 hour online TEFL course, and sharing her experiences through this blog series.

Being a full-time college student, interning 16 hours a week (today is my first day back at Greenheart Travel in 6 weeks!), attempting to go to the gym, trying to have a social life, and taking a TEFL course has been a challenge.

People think I’m nuts, but the TEFL course isn’t that demanding. With my busy schedule I like to set aside time on Fridays to do my TEFL work. The discussion board is addicting!! I constantly receive e-mails with my fellow classmates ideas and responses and I usually drop everything I am doing to respond. It’s like Facebook…when someone messages me or writes on my wall I immediately respond. The ideas that my classmates are posting are GREAT! And it’s a really great way to get to know my fellow classmates.

I specifically set aside time to take the quizzes, they don’t take a long time to do, but if I do not set aside specific time I will probably procrastinate. The worksheets can be pretty lengthy so I try to complete one half in one sitting and the second half in another sitting so that my mind is fresh. All in all that’s only three 15-20 minute sittings a week on top of the reading.

While it has made my schedule a little more full, the TEFL course has not been too demanding on my schedule. In part this is because I am really enjoying the class and I really look forward to the online discussions each week.

The secret weapon to juggling all of these things= coffee

img_0858

You can read the rest of Heather’s blog series about her experiences taking the online course here.

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,911 other followers