France, Language School - France, Language School Programs, Paris

A Final Goodbye to Paris

by Kurendeep Rai, Greenheart Travel Language School Participant in Paris

Vendredi. This trip has been good for me. I have learned to drink less. I’ve finally learned to get my thoughts in order. Life is good!

Yesterday, I went to the city of Reims, in the Champagne region, with the Brazilian boy, Rodrigo. We saw Notre-Dame de Reims which is the longest church in France. It was magnificent. Then we went to a wine shop and bought some very fine wine which would be at least double the price in the UK! Hopefully the price will reflect its taste!

Last night, I ate dinner at a restaurant with a friend and ate frog’s legs. Unfortunately, the host family were offended when I stated that frog’s legs tasted like chicken and fish. I guess they wanted me to describe it in a more sophisticated way. Nonetheless, my opinion will not be changed. After, we visited Trocadéro because I thought the view of the Eiffel Tower would be even more beautiful to see it with someone else. Later on, we sat and drank wine near the river Seine and found a club near the river which was a lot of fun! We ended up walking back home together as it was raining. Despite common presumptions, it was fun.

Today is my last day of school and I return to London tomorrow.

*             *             *

On a plane. I have the window seat. I gaze at the landscape beneath me as the plane takes off. I sigh, not out of relief but out of appreciation for this beautiful city.

I contemplate the fact that I will arrive in London in an hour. A sense of loss sweeps over me. I look back at all I’ve learned. This experience was not just about improving my proficiency in French, but also built on my character in the sense that I had to make new friends and live in a foreign environment for a week.

Before my journey I only cared about going out, getting drunk and being with friends. Now, I have a new perspective; a more cultural one. Before my life was built like a straw hut. Now its structure dominates others, almost like the Eiffel Tower.

Traveling the world is now my aim.

*             *             *

“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

“If someone isn’t what others want them to be, the others become angry. Everyone seems to have a clear idea of how other people should lead their lives, but none about his or her own.”

 

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

