High School - Argentina, High School Abroad

Moving Beyond the Honeymoon Phase While Studying Abroad in Argentina

by Spencer Weinberg, CCI Greenheart Travel High School Exchange Student in Argentina

So at this point in time during my study abroad program in Argentina, I am in what you call phase two, the dark phase. I am going through a phase where I am completely exhausted. I am trying to get used to the customs of Argentina but I am lacking sleep. I have been sleeping a lot in class and not paying attention. My host parents want me to start doing homework and stuff but I don’t know what to do. I have homework in my Spanish classes but that is about it. I think I am just cranky from so much Spanish and always thinking in Spanish. I feel like I am always doing things wrong in the house and I can’t fit in with the family ´s lifestyle. I am comfortable with my family but I don’t know what to do. I don’t have a lot of privacy so it is hard for me to sleep or do anything.

With my friends everything is going great. I love leaving the house and doing activities with them. For example, we had a protest last week and 7 other friends and me had an “American” breakfast. We all met up at my friend’s house and went to the store to buy the supplies. We bought bacon, eggs, orange juice, and bread. They bought stuff to make pancakes as well so I could try an Argentina breakfast. We had a lot of fun making the food and at first they thought meat, eggs, and bread with butter was completely bizarre. After we ate, everyone enjoyed the American breakfast and I explained to them that we don’t eat eggs and bacon everyday like they thought. But I am having fun with my friends and this week my Spanish has just clicked and I am speaking and understanding better than ever. I have close friends I can talk too and I am fitting in with my friends and teachers.

Yesterday, I was getting a student card to ride the bus and other things for cheap and when I entered the building a guy started asking me questions. After I started talking he knew I was from another country. When I told him I was from the U.S., other kids in the building were listening and quickly surrounded me asking me question like the first day of school. They were so nice and they were part of a club at the building I went too, which is at Park Espana, the most beautiful park I’ve ever been too. Anyway, they gave me a brochure of all the activities for teens to do for free. They had tango, salsa, acting, drama, music, dancing, circus, and a lot of others.

Read more about Spencer’s travels and see his photos on his blog site…

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Feelin’ Good in Argentina « - June 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

