High School - Argentina, High School Abroad

The Journey in Argentina Finally Begins

by Spencer Weinberg, CCI Greenheart Travel High School Exchange Student in Argentina

It is approximately 3 am Argentina time and I just woke up from a two hour sleep from the longest 36 hours of my life. After my last post sitting down at my gate, I noticed a boy by himself also flying to Buenos Aires, Argentina. I thought to myself who flies alone by them self to a foreign country unless they are on some sort of exchange. So I asked him what he was doing going to Argentina and I was correct. We quickly started talking about what programs we were both going on and where we were from, he was from Irie, Pennsylvania. He went with a program I was looking into( ISE), but because the price was very low, it looked to good to be true. He said the his program wasn’t helpful at all but he seemed to be on the right flight and heading to the same orientation as me. I went with CCI and the prices seemed to be about even because his program did not cover flight like mine did. But we continued to talk and get more excited about our trip.Not even to Argentina yet, and I have met my second friend of the trip.

After the boring 10 hour, flight I waited for him to catch up with me outside the plane into customs. We got our visas and passports stamped and headed to get our luggage and to meet the people picking us up for orientation. We found our group and there were five kids from Germany and one from Holland. I sat down and me and one of the boys started walking around talking because he was fluent in English. I informed him I had an exchange student from Germany and just like that we engaged in more small talk. About 30 minutes later we hoped on a bus from Buenos Aires to Rosario, where orientation is going on. We continued to drive 4 more hours on a tight bus with 8 tired passengers. The trip was getting very long.

We finally arrived at a very nice school, more like a boarding school for students but they are not there because of summer vacation. I was assigned to dorm with one of the boys from Germany who was very nice. After we got situated to our rooms we quickly met up and had a talk. Keep in mind, we still haven’t showered yet. They asked us if we wanted to go to a free concert the city was putting on for the 200 year anniversary of the Argentina Flag. Most of us wanted to go, including me, so even the tired kids didn’t wanna get left behind and went also. 10 minutes later we left for the concert, walking about 5 blocks. We got there super early because I had no idea 10,000 plus people were going to show up. It was the most beautiful music I have ever heard. Everyone was so mesmerized by the artists that were performing. Not to the main event yet, some of the kids wanted to go back and sleep. This being a once in a lifetime opportunity, I stayed with a coordinator named Juan, and him and I stayed a waited for the last performer, who was more incredible than all the others.

Read more about Spencer’s first night in Argentina on his blog…

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

