High School - Argentina, High School Abroad

The Adventure that Lies Ahead in Argentina

by Spencer Weinberg, CCI Greenheart Travel High School Student in Argentina

If I told you I wasn’t excited about this trip to study abroad in Argentina, then I would be lying. This is something I’ve wanted to do my whole life, be an exchange student. If you don’t know already, I am heading to Rosario, Argentina for five months and I am from a small town in Grand Junction, Colorado. I will be living with another family and will be experiencing a whole new way of life and culture in the eyes of an Argentine Native.

Aside all of that, my mother was worried about all the packing and supplies I needed to bring so I thought goodbyes would be the easy part. Saying bye and knowing that I wouldn’t see them for a long time hit me and it made me more upset then I thought it would. When I got on the plane, I sat across from a lady who was socializing with everyone along the aisles until she sat down, so I knew I was in for a treat. Her name was Mary Lou, and from a small town in Oklahoma. She asked me if I was planning on getting drunk with her during the duration of the flight, until I was done giggling and informed her I was only 17 years old.

She asked me what I was doing by myself flying to Houston and I informed her the situation I was going through. She was fascinated, and told me stories of her when she was in high school how she did the same thing and after her exchange she traveled all over the world to escape from her small town, the exact same reason as me. My parents didn’t even cross my mind. We talked the whole flight about travel, life, and the importance of family and friends. We exchanged emails and phone numbers because she wants to follow my journeys and I wanted to stay intouch with her.

I was completly blown away by her, 2 hours into my trip and I already had a life time friend ahead of me, not to mention she was in Colorado visiting her grand children. We took pictures and talked a little more when we got off the flight.

I love my parents more than anything in the world. The fact is, I am all by myself in this adventure and I am in a real life situation as I’ve always been since I was 10. But this time it is my turn to grow and excel without my parents present. I’ve been ready for this experience and the journey lies ahead of me in about 2 hours. I am not nervous at all, but anxious for the opportunities that lie ahead of me. This is going to be something I am going to remember for the rest of my life.

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Adventure that Lies Ahead in Argentina

  1. You are so lucky! Argentina is where I have always dreamed of studying abroad… unfortunately, I don’t have the money. 😦 I wish you the best of luck! Enjoy every minute of it.

    Posted by thelightinbetween | June 25, 2012, 11:32 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Journey in Argentina Finally Begins « - March 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

