Teach Abroad - Republic of Georgia, Teach Abroad Programs

Georgia Countdown to Teach Abroad

by Jason Lynch, Greenheart Travel Teacher in the Republic of Georgia

Jason prepares to depart in a week.

I haven’t slept great the last few nights.  No, not because I’m nervous about shipping off to Georgia in a week!  But because I had the genius idea to make my bed the intermediary between house and suitcase, and up until this moment, suitcase has been filled with nothing but empty space, leaving bed as a pile of hooded sweatshirts, pants, and everything in between, thus making my temporary sleeping quarters a couch that I am physically larger than.  A lot of variables go into the packing process, and until I decide what I’m going to wear next weekend, I’ve decided I don’t really feel comfortable packing anything.  Perhaps I should have started my reasoning with, “What am I not going to wear next weekend?”, and started from there.  Aha!  ( I was told to write about “aha” moments for my blog post, and that’s all I got so far)

Otherwise, I just wanted to say, I’m really souped to meet all the other peeps who are starting their Georgian adventure next week!  I think it takes a different breed of human to do this sorta thing, and can’t wait to meet you guys and girls.  It’s always nice to roll with a group when heading into an unknown experience.  Takes some of the pressure off, or at the very least provides a sense of comfort knowing that other peeps are basically going to be having the same experience as me, even if interpreted through a different lens.  I can’t really say I’m all that souped about 12 hour days at orientation though.  I mean, come on Greenheart, or TLG, or whoever.  Yes, we are coming over there to teach English, not take a vacation, but, from what I understand, most of us will be teaching outside of Tbilisi, and thus would truly appreciate a full day to explore the city, especially when we’re all together.  I myself certainly wouldn’t mind paying for a hostel or hotel room for one night to allow such a journey to take place.  5 straight 12 hour days is a 60 hour week!  Factor in jet lag, by the time I meet my host family I expect to be in some sort of somnambulistic mind state and will be happy to be able formulate full sentences, let alone speak in a coherent fashion.

Ok, enough taking on “the man”, but nothing wrong with being a catalyst for change I always say.  Hmm, what else?  Well, it’s been interesting gauging the reactions of friends and family as they hear the Georgia news.  If this were family feud, and 100 peeps were polled, “Are you insane” and “that’s awesome” would be the top two answers on the board.  I do my best to remain conscious of who I’m talking to and where they’re coming from whenever the topic comes up, which is something I will certainly be doing when discussing some of the more hot button topics in Georgia which might not seem so hot button to me.  In terms of around these parts, those with a lot of attachments, in the form of career/relationship/house/etc, aren’t as free to engage in this type of experience, which helps me understand why some people take what I do with my time in a personal way, even close friends.  And yet, it’s also incredibly refreshing when someone else just “gets it”, understands what I’m doing and why I’m doing it.  Not everythang is about money, and teaching in Georgia is one of those thangs.  Kids, culture, experience, what more reason do you need???

I don’t want to write too much on what I expect over in Georgia.  I’ve read some blogs, done some internet research, bought a book, but the bottom line is, I don’t know what to expect, and that’s just fine by me.  I guess I’m comfortable not knowing what will happen because I recognize I can’t know.  I read the material provided by Greenheart, and, I must say, that as of now I feel quite well prepped for my little quest into the Caucasus.  Do I think I’ll be nervous getting off the plane?  Yea, probably a bit.  Do I think I may experience some anxiousness when meeting the host family?  Yes, definitely.  But I know when I’m not busy resisting my own feelings that they come and they go.  I think the open and inviting mindset is going to be crucial for a more enjoyable experience, and ultimately, I know all I can really take responsibility for, is myself.  At the end of the day, that’s all anyone can take responsibility for.  Ok that, and a classroom full of kids who speak a different language!  Good luck to everyone getting over there.  I can’t wait to meet you guys.  Thanks to Greenheart for letting me participate on this thing, and to the other bloggers for their insightful writing.  See you again soon.

 

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

