High School - Spain, High School Abroad

A Month Studying in Spain; Reflecting on Learning a Language and Amplified Emotions

by Angelea Ennamorato, CCI-Greenheart Travel High School Student in Spain

Angelea stops a moment in Retiro Park.

It’s been about a month since I’ve been in studying abroad in Spain, and I’ve already experienced and learned so much! I arrived to my host town, Miajadas, after orientation in Madrid, and was greeted by my host mom, Lali and my host sister, Ana. I also have an older host sister named Raquel who goes to a university in a city about 45 minutes away. I really like my host family. We all get along so well and I feel like a part of their family already, and being here in Spain with them has felt really natural for me.

I still can’t believe it’s already been a month since I’ve been here, time goes by so fast! Sometimes during random moments I’ll think “wow I’m actually here in Spain,” like I can’t believe I’m actually here. School is another story though; it seems to drag on forever and ever until I can’t cram in any more Spanish geography or history lessons.

I think a part of that is because I can’t understand much in school. The teachers just lecture the whole time in class in a heavy-accented Spanish that is quite hard to understand at times. However, I have definitely noticed my improvement in listening since I’ve been here because I’ve adjusted to the accent. With my host family and friends, I can understand about 70% of any conversation and add in my opinion sometimes. As for speaking Spanish, I’m getting better and better each day, but I still have a lot to learn. Sometimes it’s so frustrating when I can’t describe what I want to say, so I have to simplify my speech and I feel like a little kid again, taking baby steps to learn more vocabulary. But I hope that I can be completely comfortable with speaking and listening to Spanish within my three and a half months left here.

Although the culture of Spain is completely different than the USA, I enjoy the lifestyle of Spaniards. I take a siesta (a nap you take after lunch time) daily, and I like how everything is pushed later into the day. Lunch at 2pm and dinner at 10pm, anyone? Not to mention my host mom cooks delicious food and mealtimes are a big affair here, so I now have a higher appreciation of food.

Angelea and her host sister in Isla Cristina.

The pace of life here is generally slower, which is something I will always appreciate because I can enjoy life stress-free. And the majority of Spaniards that I’ve met have been very friendly and welcoming. The other day my friend from school told me “Angelea, please don’t leave Spain. I’m gonna miss you!” and it made my day. I think my friends that I have here will be lifelong.

Even though I’ve had a great time since I’ve been here, I still have had culture shock and days where I feel generally down. Whether it’s from missing my family or having an off-day with speaking Spanish, it seems that my emotions here are much more amplified because I’m experiencing a totally different world. But everyday is an improvement from the one before, and I’m so thankful that I have this amazing opportunity. That’s it for now, but I’ll definitely update on my life here sometime later! Hasta luego.

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “A Month Studying in Spain; Reflecting on Learning a Language and Amplified Emotions

  1. Thanks for another informative web site. Where else could I get that type of

    info written in such a perfect way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on,

    and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

    Posted by Ismael | August 7, 2013, 9:52 pm
  2. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with
    hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due

    to no backup. Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

    Posted by barabaramoore73 | July 22, 2013, 1:08 pm
  3. Hi my loved one! I want to say that this post is amazing,

    great written and come with almost all important
    infos. I would

    like to look more posts like this .

    Posted by Malcolm | July 19, 2013, 7:42 am
  4. whoah this blog is magnificent i like

    studying your articles. Keep up the great paintings! You know, lots
    of persons are hunting

    round for this info, you can aid them greatly.

    Posted by jango.info | July 5, 2013, 3:04 pm
    • This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and

      look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared

      your site in my social networks!

      Posted by Aaliyah | July 16, 2013, 7:31 am
    • Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to

      send you an e-mail. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you

      might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

      Posted by sherlenereed79 | August 8, 2013, 11:35 am
    • I think other web-site proprietors should take this website as
      an model, very clean

      and excellent user genial style and design, let alone the

      content. You’re an expert in this topic!

      Posted by chelseacheatham | September 6, 2013, 8:53 am
  5. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to
    do a little research

    on this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this
    post.

    I’m very glad to see such fantastic info being shared freely

    out there.

    Posted by http://boevye-iskusstva.bosa.org.ua | April 9, 2013, 11:21 pm
  6. Outstanding post but I was

    wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you

    could elaborate a little bit more. Bless you!

    Posted by lil-kim.org | December 27, 2012, 7:06 pm
  7. May I just say what a relief to find somebody that genuinely
    understands what they are discussing over the internet.
    You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make
    it important. More people must read this and understand this side of the story.
    I can’t believe you aren’t more popular because you most certainly have the gift.

    Posted by lebuteur.com | November 11, 2012, 2:02 am
  8. yeee Ang! miss ya

    Posted by maddie | October 24, 2011, 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

