High School - Spain, High School Abroad

¿Cómo se dice…? Where Did the Time Go in Spain?

by Zoey Haar, CCI-Greenheart Travel High School Abroad Student in Spain

One month. One whole month. I’ve been studying abroad in Spain for a month!!! No matter how many times I say it, it still sounds crazy. How did that happen? How did my first clumsy days turn into weeks, into a month?! It seems like just yesterday when I stepped off the plane in Madrid and realized what I had gotten myself into. But here I am, one month in and considerably better at Spanish, if I do say so myself.

Now, don’t get too excited. I’m far from fluent; I’m still confused about 70% of the time and my grammar is a nightmare, but it’s certainly getting easier to communicate. I’m finally starting to adjust to the time schedule, and I have more or less figured out the flow of everyday life (it includes taking my siestas very seriously).

I’m also starting to understand most of my classes, although History is still a battle. I spend a lot of time sitting at home glaring at the book, armed with a dictionary and a pen. Headaches are a pretty regular thing. Other than that, I have no complaints about school. I’m actually a big fan of the uniforms, as I’m not the type of person who loves expressing myself though clothing. You see, I’m incredibly lazy when it comes to getting dressed, and the last thing I want to do when I wake up in the morning is think about whether my shoes match my shirt. So in that way, the uniform is really ideal. Is it my best look? No. No it is not. But, seeing as I am in a generous mood, I’ve provided a picture anyway so that you may bask in the glory that is me in a Catholic school uniform.

Unfortunately, as you can see, the uniforms are not at the height of fashion, so I still need to think of things to wear for going out, which is kind of a bummer, but at least I’m getting out! I go out Friday and Saturday nights. Thankfully, the crazy dancing and getting home a 5 a.m. thing ended when the Feria did. On normal weekends we walk around the beautiful streets and sit on a bench and talk in the center of town, the Plaza del Sol, and eat candy. Life is sweet­—literally.

Yes, things are pretty good here. I get a little homesick sometimes, but it always passes. If there’s anything that my one month here has taught me so far it’s that time flies by, with or without your permission. I’m sure that the two-month mark will roll around sometime soon, and I’ll find myself asking once again,

“¿Dónde se fue el tiempo?”

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Five Tips to Beat the Holiday Blues While Studying Abroad « - December 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

