High School - Spain, High School Abroad

“Como Se Dice…” I am Studying Abroad in Spain?

by Zoey Haar, CCI-Greenheart Travel High School Abroad Student in Spain

Five days. Five days to pack, get my paperwork together, say my goodbyes, and figure out a name for this blog. I know that this day has been coming for months­—I’ve been planning my ten-month stay as an exchange student in Spain for a half a year—but it still feels very surreal.  The first day of school is today in my town, and I’m not there.  Right now all of my best friends are milling about in various states of excitement, confusion and nostalgia for the summer, and I’m completely missing it.  It’s hard to imagine that everything is going on like it does every year. Life is just going on without me.

But I’m sounding ungrateful; let’s talk about something great, like the fact that I’m so excited to go abroad. This is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity! I’m going to get to meet new people and see great new things and become a new person, and I couldn’t possibly be more nervous and excited. And the best part is that you, the reader, are going to be able to experience it with me.  I’ll be recording all of my experiences throughout the year in this blog. There will be pictures and stories and, if I am fortunate enough to become technologically inclined, videos.

This is me!

Here’s a little bit about me to get you started:
Name:
Zoey Haar                          
Age:
15
Date of Birth:
8-24-96 / 24-8-96   
Education:
High school sophomore          
Date of Departure:
9-11-11 / 11-9-11
Date of Return:
6-22-12 / 22-6-12
Where I Will be Staying:
A small town called Zafra in the Badajoz region of Spain
New Family Members:  Cote (Mother), Fernando (father), Borja (son, 16), Fernando and Alvaro (sons, 22)
New School:
Colegio Maria Inmaculada (Catholic school)

I’m sure I’ve missed something, but we have ten months to get acquainted, and I’m in no rush. I’m just excited to be getting ready to leave. I’ve got my Euros and my dictionaries and I’m ready to go on an adventure. But I have to finish packing first…

Update: CCI-Greenheart Travel is excited to know that Zoey has arrived safely and we look forward to her latest update on her adventure abroad!

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

3 thoughts on ““Como Se Dice…” I am Studying Abroad in Spain?

  1. Loving the picture!!

    Posted by Chelsea stevens | September 16, 2011, 6:05 pm
    • Congratulations Zoe! I am so excited for you! Do you know Spanish? I joined WP a couple of days ago. I have family in Spain and there is a street named after our family!
      God’s speed as you travel.
      Keep bloggin’ I will be reading up on your trip!

      Peace to you!

      Mitzi

      PS–I have a translator on my blog you can use if you need to. 🙂 Also I am a latina from Chile who is fluent in
      Spanish! Por si acaso necesitas ayuda!

      Posted by mspeza11 | September 22, 2011, 12:02 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: “¿Cómo se dice…” I’m Finally Here?! « - September 27, 2011

Leave a Reply

