High School - New Zealand, High School Abroad

Preparing for Departure; Tips for Packing for Long-Term Travel

By Paige Diller, CCI High School Study Abroad Student in New Zealand

Today is the day! I will leave from the Philadelphia airport this afternoon for my CCI study abroad program in New Zealand. I can’t believe the date has arrived this fast.

Over the last two days I have said goodbye to most everyone. My bags are almost 100% packed. I have probably packed and unpacked 3 or 4 times in the last 48 hours. I’m still scurrying around the house picking up the last minutes items I have forgotten. I’ve also become a regular at the Rite Aid as I’ve been there multiple times in the past few days picking up all the odds and ends like chap stick and toothpaste.

TIPS:

  • For anyone traveling abroad in the near future, my advice is to pack and re pack and re pack again. You’ll remember the small stuff that you would have other wise forgotten.
  • Make sure to think ahead as well. I’ve packed tissues, wet wipes, toothpaste, toothbrushes, aspirin, hand-sanitizer, and entertainment (mostly books and music) all in my carry on backpack.
  • I also have a change of clothes. If you are traveling for a long period of time (Like me, approx 26 hours), you may want to freshen up, brush you teeth, change your clothes. If you receive meals on you flight(s), you may want to have wet wipes or hand-sanitizer to have before you eat. However long or short you are traveling, always plan ahead.
  • I’ve also found it’s very helpful to talk with a parent or sibling about what you are packing. My mom and I have been discussing clothes and shoes to pack for the last week. She has mentioned things I’ve forgotten and advised me on things I don’t need to be taking, or definitely can’t forget.

Tonight we are having a family dinner and afterwards I will have to say goodbye to Sarah and puppy dogs. No offense to any relatives or friends that might be reading this blog but I think it is very possible I will miss Spot and Jackson the most.

I’m very surprised by myself, in that I really have no knots in my stomach at this point. I feel confident about my travels and know that I’ll have a great time. I know I’ll miss everyone at home, but I’m also confident that this will be a great experience and it’ll fly by. I’m sure by the end of my stay I won’t want to leave! Thank you to all the family and friends who have encouraged me and shared my excitement in this adventure!

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Preparing for Departure; Tips for Packing for Long-Term Travel

  1. Looking forward to reading about your adventures from a new and distant land. My thoughts and prayers are with you!

    Posted by bubba | July 28, 2011, 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

