High School - New Zealand, High School Abroad

Countdown to New Zealand; A High School Abroad Adventure Begins

by Paige Diller, CCI High School Abroad student in New Zealand

New Zealand has one of the most beautiful settings in the world.

It is now less than a week before I depart on my CCI high school abroad New Zealand adventure. Though I’m getting more excited as the date approaches, I’m not nearly as nervous as I expected to be.

I have been in contact with my host family via e-mail and a little bit of Facebook (technology these days…). They appear to be a wonderful family, and I’m looking forward to meeting them in person. I will be staying with a family of 4; Mum, Dad, and two girls. Yuna, who will be around my age, is a Japanese exchange student. I’m so lucky to have the chance to not only learn about the New Zealand culture, but dip into the Japanese culture as well. The other girl in the household is Catherine; she is 20 years old and an actual daughter to the family.

I have begun packing, and surprisingly I have made good progress…. though I have taken over an entire room of the house with my suitcases, clothing, and lists all over the floor and the furniture…

One thing I have found in my “pre-adventure” planning is you don’t realize how many people you will need to say goodbye too. This past week has been a busy schedule for me; packing, and getting my last minute flight and trip details planned, but also finding time to spend with friend and family. My advice to any student leaving for an abroad experience- make sure you start doing family visits early, as well as try to spend a little time with all your friends, so everyone has a chance to give you a goodbye hug.

Last night, Sean and I had a wonderful time with the Benamati’s. We relaxed and laughed while eating pizza and later went out for Dairy Queen. It was nice spending time with you guys and being able to simply ‘chill’! And we look forward to having another Pizza-get-together around Christmas time!

Today is my “Sista” day with Sarah. We’re going to grab some breakfast, visit some family, stop for lunch and maybe see a movie after that. This weekend I’ll hopefully get to see many of my friends and say my goodbyes to them so that next week I can relax a little, pack a little, and sleep a lot.

Though I don’t want to leave all you Americans, the New Zealanders have much cooler accents. My calendar shows 6 days until take off. I can’t wait!

With anticipation,

Paige🙂

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Countdown to New Zealand; A High School Abroad Adventure Begins

  1. Well so far you’ve missed a big thunderstorm. I’m looking forward to hearing about your new experiences. Enjoy!

    Posted by Donna S | August 2, 2011, 9:07 pm
  2. What an exciting time in your life – enjoy every second of it!!

    Posted by Lesley | July 26, 2011, 3:12 pm
  3. i will miss you, but am so excited for you!!

    Posted by Lauren Freyder | July 26, 2011, 2:21 pm
  4. Travel safe. Looking forward to hearing about all of your new experiences!

    Posted by Mike (dad) | July 25, 2011, 1:02 pm
  5. We are so very proud of you, wishing you an adventure of a lifetime!

    Posted by Dana (mom) | July 25, 2011, 10:31 am
  6. Super! I will look forward to following your adventures…

    Posted by Charlotte Pittinger | July 22, 2011, 3:38 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Preparing for Departure; Tips for Packing for Long-Term Travel « - July 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

