Teach Abroad - Taiwan, Teach Abroad Programs

Dinner for Breakfast, Adapating to Life as a Teacher in Taiwan

by Megan Mulford, Greenheart Travel Teach Abroad Participant in Taiwan

So I’ve been in Taiwan for my teach abroad program for only a little less than a week and have learned/experienced SO much already. I arrived on time at about 9:30 last Friday night, was greeted at the airport by Mr. Huang who entertained me the entire way to my hotel. I’m pretty sure he stopped talking to breath twice, only because his phone rang and he had to stop to look at who was calling. Aside from his entertainment, though, I was scared for my life a few times. Even though he was very funny and nice, most of the time I was praying for him to stop and focus on driving… the traffic in Taipei is beyond ridiculous!

I’m pretty sure more than of half the “drivers” have never had lessons. Very scary! He dropped me off at about 11 to the Landmark Inn where I would be staying that night. My school’s international director, Michelle, who I will probably mention a lot more, already made me a reservation so I was quickly shown to my room and was not allowed to carry my own bags…definitely doesnt happen in America unless youre some sort of VIP. I immediately signed into the wireless internet to let my parents know that I had arrived safely. Jet lagged and running on about 5 hours of sleep, I was out before my head hit the pillow.

The next morning, there was a “continental” breakfast, which consisted of dinner food…or at least to me it was dinner food, haha. Beef, noodles, broccoli, rice, some sort of soup, cold cuts, bread. There were eggs, toast, and croissants, but otherwise I thought I had woken up WAY later than planned and missed the breakfast food. Nope! Michelle picked me up and took me to Carrefour, got some of the things I needed for my dorm that I couldn’t bring from home, had lunch at some tiny restaurant, and went back to the school to see where I’ll be living for the next 4 1/2 months.

Having seen pictures before I left, I kind of knew what to expect as far as what the school looked like. This is only the front wing of the school and it has 2 wings on each side. Below is the view from my room.

I was a little homesick when Michelle first dropped me off on Saturday afternoon. Every sign is in Chinese characters so if I wanted to go somewhere, I couldn’t read any signs…really weird and disorienting. I basically felt like a lost little puppy. I took a little walk but decided not to go far because I didn’t want to get lost. I did go to the ever popular 7-Eleven to get a coke and Doritos….some comfort food, ya know? A little taste from home helped, plus a looooooooong nap…definitely a great cure for homesickness. I think I went to bed at about 4:30 that day and the next thing I knew it was 7 the next morning….talk about jet lag!

Read and view more photos from Megan’s blog…

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

