Work Abroad - Australia, Work Abroad Program

Crossing It Off the “To-Do” List and a Few Steps Closer to Australia

by Kate Stanley, Greenheart Travel Work Abroad Participant in Australia

I can hardly believe it, but I leave in 18 days for my work abroad program. The amount of space between my Australian future and me is dwindling. And as my countdown clock to Australia is getting smaller, so is my To-Do List!

When I made the decision to move months and months ago, the first thing I did was create a to-do list for myself with everything that would need to be done and sorted out before I left. Now, with only 18 days left, almost everything on that list is crossed off. I cannot tell you how proud I am of that crossed off list! Completing all of these items has been no easy thing either. There have been some big details: Visa, passport, plane tickets, and there have been some smaller details: luggage, power adapters and converters, etc.  But in the end, I have conquered them, with a few missteps along the way of course. I’ll admit to you all right now, I submitted my Visa with the wrong birth date on it! That was stressful and not fun.

One thing planning this trip has made me aware of is that there are a lot of things you don’t think you’ll ever have to know, like the difference in power voltage between America and Australia. During this whole journey there have been many times when people have asked me questions about my plans or about Australia, and I had no clue what the answer is. A good friend of mine pointed out to me that in Australia the seasons are opposite. I will be arriving right in time for the end of summer, and I had no idea. My new found ignorance has been humbling, but in a good way, I promise. I am about to enter a country whose culture, people, pretty much everything is unfamiliar, so it is probably good practice for me.

It is really crazy the amount of things I need to do before I go. You do not think about all the little details there are to take care of. Life has a lot of details. It seems like every day I think of some new task that needs to be accomplished before I leave. When you have that many things to do it almost makes you not want to do any of them. But each time I would get a task done, I got one step closer to Australia. That’s how it feels, like each time I cross something off my to-do list, I am moving aside one more obstacle aside that stands between this exciting adventure and me. That makes it all worth it. Worrying over whether I got a good deal on a plane ticket was worth it. Being confused over intimidating Visa and passport applications was worth it.  The next question is, will figuring out how to shove all of my belongings into three suitcases, and boxing up the rest be worth it…I have a feeling it will!

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

