High School - Japan, High School Abroad

The Unraveling

by Zoe Brockman, Greenheart Travel High School Abroad Participant in Japan

I have taken up running around the local park at night, two or three times a week. Sometimes I put ear buds in and listen to music while I run, past the park and up stairs, across a gigantic bridge and back again, but lately I like to listen to the night. All of the stress from packing my brain with new information fades little by little as I stride past other runners and walkers, increasing my pace little by little, until finally, when I arrive at the last stretch out of the park, I sprint as fast as I can, using up all of the energy I have left in me, my breath heavy and my face covered in sweat.

This, I have discovered, is great for both my physical and mental health. To be in control of something, in this case, my running, gives me great satisfaction and confidence.

So, now that my long period of adjusting to life in Japan has officially ended, I have turned my attention to doing well at school. I have midterm finals coming up next week, for instance, that I am gearing up for. There are about nine different classes that I have to take finals for, and most I still am having trouble with. The only classes I have a bit of confidence in are my two math classes. The other classes, such as World History, Classical Japanese, Modern Japanese, Biology, etc, have so many difficult kanji words and concepts that I have to memorize, so thus, are exceptionally difficult for me.

It is impossible, clearly put, for me to do well on these finals, but still, since I am a bit of a perfectionist, I imagine that I will feel a bit depressed when I see my scores. But all of my classes are very interesting and mind expanding, so I enjoy going to school. I especially enjoy Modern Japanese class, for we are reading essays with titles like “Myself: The Mysterious Existence of ‘Me’”, which I find thrilling. Philosophically, I have learned, the reason I understand that I am “me” is because there are other people to compare myself to, and if, for some reason, no one else existed, I would not think of myself as “me”, if that makes sense.

All in all, school is a fun place to be. My classmates are hilarious and all very kind and accepting, and I have made lots of friends.

I am indescribably relieved and glad that I have returned to normal, in terms of body, spirit, and mind. Now then, let my adventures in Tokyo begin!

Read more of Zoe’s adventure in Japan…

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

