High School - Japan, High School Abroad

Tiny Failures but All the Wiser

by Zoe Brockman, Greenheart Travel High School Abroad Participant in Japan

Even now, four days after the event, I still do not understand why I did it. It might have been because I had been off from school for a week and had forgotten the Japanese school rules, or maybe it was because I was so exhausted that my mind seemed to be blank, or perhaps it was caused by the fact that because that day was devoted to readying our room for the school festival, it did not feel like an actual school day to me. But whatever the underlying reason, I got in trouble at school for the first time in my life.

I had just spent two days absent from school vacationing near Yamanaka Lake, relaxing in natural hot springs while gazing up at the full moon, trying on heavy, ancient samurai armour for fun, and taking pictures of the gorgeous Mt. Fuji in the distance. So, of course, when the girls at school asked me what I had done away from school, I was overjoyed to explain. When there was nothing left to do, I had the grand idea to show them pictures of my visit that I had taken on my cell phone, since I believed the pictures would illustrate my two days near Yamanaka Lake nicely. But no sooner had I turned on my phone when I heard a voice call my name. It was Saitou-sensei, my homeroom teacher. In confusion and shock, I was led away to the teachers’ lounge and told that my cell phone would be taken away, my host mother would be phoned and that she would have to come get the phone the next day at a certain time. I bowed my head in shame and apologized, all the while feeling as if this was not really happening and that it was just a bad dream.  Read more of Zoe’s learning experience…

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

