Teach Abroad - Republic of Georgia, Teach Abroad Programs

Wordless Wanderings: The First Day of School in Georgia

Kenneth Monette, Greenheart Travel Teach Abroad Participant in the Republic of Georgia

These photos are from the opening day of school. After having to give a speech at the outdoor ceremony, a traditional Georgian dance was performed.

Two Georgian students prepare to dance.

Georgian school children sing traditional songs during the ceremony on the first day at Surami School No. 1.

School children ranging from kindergarten through 12th grade listen to the speeches.

Kindergartners from the Surami School No.1 head to class after the opening ceremony. The President of Georgia has now made it mandatory to speak English in order to graduate;  his goal is to have a native English speaker/teacher in every school. There are over 2,200 public schools and I think about 250 private schools.   Grades 3 through 12 must study English, and there are now roughly 150 or more native English teachers/speakers in the country from Canada, U.S., U.K., Scotland, Ireland and South Africa.

Myself sitting between two Georgian English teachers, Dahli, to my left, and Nino. Nino is the youngest teacher at the school.

There are 25 teachers at the school, three are male (including me) and the rest are female. My host mom is the chemistry teacher. The first day of school lasted until noon, and then the teachers gathered to celebrate at the supra (party)! Here my fellow teachers are waiting for the marschutka (minibus) transport us to the restaurant.

The teachers celebrated from 3:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Good food, plenty of wine, about 50 different toasts, singing and dancing. The three Georgian men singing in the party at the restaurant that afternoon were graduates of the school and are now famous Georgian folk singers. They invited me to their concert in October in Tbilisi.

This is the school’s music teacher singing a beautiful Georgian folk song.

My ride home!  I usually walk though since my house is a 10 minute walk from the No. 1 School. I’ve starting running and amazingly the good air here makes it “fun to run.” I ran for an hour and a half the other morning, at least now I can work off this great Georgian food. Weather has been sunny and cool except for rain one day

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wanderings: The First Day of School in Georgia

  1. kenn:”) is that your website? i was looking for pictures in google for my tomorrow presentation and i found this:) i amn’t sure but i doubt it’s your website, because those are so familiar pictures for me. Write me when you will be online. I’m Sophie Tsertsvadze. I think you remember me , we are facebook friends too:)

    Posted by sophie T | November 16, 2011, 5:02 pm
  2. I was searching about this issue everywhere,I was really curious about this…Really big thanks.I will always looking for your new articles. Good day, Bill

    Posted by evden eve | September 28, 2010, 4:19 pm

Leave a Reply

