High School - Japan, High School Abroad

Cheerful Weathermen Have Become Unforgiveable

by Colleen McCullum, Greenheart Travel High School Abroad Participant in Japan

The current weather in Japan is the hottest summer in something like a century. I, of course, have to come just then to ‘enjoy the different culture.’ The culture is fantastic, the climate is not. I’m not being completely fair, since most Japanese citizens are also praying for the heat to leave. It’s ridiculous though, to be in dry and comfortable Colorado one day, and in humid and immensely hot Japan the next.

The humidity by itself would have kept my body busy for days, adapting to the sudden presence of fluids in the air. Throw record high temperatures into the mix and I’m not even sure I’m properly functioning. I wake up in the morning hot and tired, go through the day hot and tired, spend the evening hot and tired, and fall asleep hot and tired. Repeat.

I can’t wait for the lingering heat of the summer to pass. The humidity I can deal with. Daily heat that reached over average body temperature, though, stretches my limits just a bit. When I start complaining in winter about the cold, remind me to peruse my own writing and think back to the days I suspected I would spontaneously melt into a miserable puddle.

Every new person I meet starts with a comment on the horrible heat, and goes on to explain that Japan is usually NEVER this hot, as if in their own defense. They needn’t worry, since I’m not blaming them at all for the weather. No human hand could manage to bring about these temperatures. This can only be the work of my own dismal luck. If you need further proof, look up the yen-dollar exchange rate. And then give my parents a sympathetic phone call.

Luckily for me, I have a few off days before I go back to school. I went the first day, but they started testing the next, so I was told to stay home for the span of a few days. Hopefully in that space of time the climate will feel a sudden flash of mercy and consider offering more amiable weather conditions.

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Cheerful Weathermen Have Become Unforgiveable

  1. Huzzah! The weather has been decent for a good stretch of time now. October weather is supposed to be really nice here. Unfortunately, there’s still some unusual characteristics of the skies lately: constant cloud cover and occasional rain. Now the constant stream of “It’s usually never this hot this time of year” has been replaced by “It’s usually never this cloudy and rainy this time of year.” Global warming?!🙂

    Posted by Colleen | October 19, 2010, 10:07 pm
  2. Hi Colleen!
    Your blog posts are wonderful to read; you have mastered the art of evocative description with an economy of words!

    Hot and humid really is the worst because there’s nothing you can do if there’s no artificial cooling available. School in Virginia without AC was pretty miserable sometimes. Hopefully, there will be a long period of perfect fall weather before the winter cold sets in! Have fun!

    Love, Uncle Dunc

    Posted by Duncan McCollum | September 22, 2010, 9:30 pm
  3. Hi Colleen,
    Your dad forwarded this new link for us to read. WOW!!!! When I lived in Okinawa, we had AC!. The heat and humidity were bad, but we could escape into a cool house. Your description reminds me of growing up on the Gulf Coast of Texas. We had no AC in schools or home. I feel your pain. I used to keep a fan by my bed and have it blow on me all night. During school, I remember watching this huge black rotating fan as it swept across the room…waiting for it to finally get to me. Ugh! I hope the weather cools down soon. It has been very warm here in Colorado as well. Take care,
    Mrs. B.

    Posted by Mrs. Bogart | September 22, 2010, 4:33 pm
  4. Dear Colleen, Granddad and I are so enjoying your writings. We love your use of descriptive words. It takes us back 50 years when we shopped in Japan. We were not there during extremely hot weather; tho once when your Dad was just 4 months old we came to Atsugi and nearly froze to death. Love, Grandmother & Granddad

    Posted by Lois-Ann McCollum (Colleen's Grandmother) | September 22, 2010, 10:57 am

Leave a Reply

