Volunteer Abroad - Kenya, Volunteer Abroad Programs

A “Good Looking Scar” and Girl Talk in Kenya

by Kalie McQuillen, Greenheart Travel Volunteer Abroad Participant in Kenya

Jambo,

Well it has been an interesting time so far in Kenya, as I’m sure you can imagine. I am healing well and got my stitches out yesterday. I’ll be very glad to not have to deal with the doctors here anymore. My back is feeling better, I’ll just have a good looking scar. When anyone asks me about it I’ll just say “you should see the scar I left on the truck.”

photo courtesy of the Kenya-Advisor.com

I had some highs and lows as I recovered in Nairobi. It was rather boring, but I had a few days of being busy. David’s nephew Aggrey and his friend Albert took me into Nairobi so I could go to the Maasai Market. It was just as I pictured; crowded, colorful and high pressure. I’ll be honest here, I didn’t care much for Nairboi. I’m a country girl at heart and would much rather have trees and plains to fast moving cars. Walking around in the city was horrible for me. I was on the verge of a breakdown every time I had to cross the busy streets. The boys literally had to walk on both sides of me whenever a car came around.

Then that night I had a wonderful surprise. An American girl named Jordan came to David’s and she initially planned on coming to Tania. It was so wonderful to chat with her. I got to have some much needed girl talk. She is 17 and from New York City. This is her second time in Africa, but her first time on her own. Obviously, we lead very different lives, but it was so great to hear about her friends and family. However, the glee didn’t last long there. After she heard that Tania is closing in August for vacation she wanted to switch projects. So now she is 6 hours away volunteering at an orphanage in Kisi. We are planning on making a trip to the coast on my last weekend here, and I’m hoping to visit her in New York this year.

I also went to the National Park. The trip was too short, but I was able to see a few animals. No lions though!

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

