Volunteer Abroad - Kenya, Volunteer Abroad Programs

A Girl and a Truck in Kenya

by Kalie McQuillen, Greenheart Travel Volunteer Participant in Kenya

Tuesday started out so great. I got to volunteer with the “special class” which is exactly what I wanted to do when I planned this trip to Kenya. I talked to the school director and asked if I could work the class permanently instead of doing PE and C/A and he agreed. I got to meet the third female volunteer Lora and she is great, I think we will get along very well. My spirits had gotten better and my homesickness was getting bearable. During lunch Fabian (the male volunteer from Germany) told me he was going into Kiserian later that night after school and I could come. I was really happy because I needed some things and didn’t want to venture into town alone.

photo courtesy of World Countries website

We hitched a ride into town which was nice, so we didn’t have to wait for the bus. Once in town Fabian showed me around and I was able to go to the ATM as well as the grocery store. Then we walked into the “market” (a huge outside covered farmers market with fruits, food, and all kinds of things) so I could try and find a towel to buy. We had found everything we needed and were walking on the left side of the street because the bus station was a few feet ahead of us.

I heard a honk and all of a sudden I was on the ground and many people were around me. “Oh my God” I thought, “I have just been hit by a truck.”

A local man picked me up to my feet and walked me to a little health clinic. So many people stood still watching as blood literally poured from my head. After one man said there was a lot of blood I reached my hand to see and it came back soaked in red. An old Maasai man came with us and stayed until we left.

This truck was the size of a dump truck. And like a dump truck, the sides protrude out, that is what slammed into my head. Remember earlier when I mentioned the way they drive here? I wasn’t lying.

Once into the doctor I started to panic. Tears began pouring out and I was hyperventilating. The doctor was a total jerk and kept telling me to stop crying. He gave me a local anesthetic and shaved off a big ‘ole spot on my head. I have 14 internal and external stitches. The doc said the cut went to my skull, but we had it x-rayed and it didn’t crack. The driver has paid for everything so far, but he will have to give me more, that is, if he isn’t in jail. My back hurts a lot and yesterday I could hardly move. Today, it is better because another doctor gave me a pain-jell and that has been very helpful.

I’m extremely lucky to be alive, let alone in good condition. Had he been going any faster it probably would have cracked open my skull and I would have died. This was very traumatic as you can imagine, and I get really anxious when I think of walking anywhere around here again. With time it will get better hopefully.

I get the stitches out next Wednesday and will be staying in Nairobi until then just to make sure nothing goes wrong.

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

