Teach Abroad - Republic of Georgia, Teach Abroad Programs

Waking Up In Georgia: Churches, Choirs and George W. Bush Highway

by Kimberly Berls

So let me enlighten you with a few things. First of all, Germany is awesome – mainly because I forgot my name is German, and it’s amazing to hear everyone pronounce it correctly on the first try. WEIRD! … and the architecture, I went to a little town called Freising, a short bus ride from the airport, and it looked straight out of Hansel and Gretel.

Map of Georgia

I finally make it to Tibilisi, Georgia in the middle of the night (got to the hotel at 4:00 a.m.), but of course that’s like 7:00 p.m. Chicago time, so I couldn’t sleep. I was really thirsty and I’m not sure if you can drink the water here, but I guess it’s too late because I did. So far so good. A guy in his late 20s picked me up at the airport when I finally arrived after 48 hours of travel. He is part of the Ministry team working on this teach abroad project, and he has some awesome Georgian hair. He was on scholarship in South Carolina for a few years to study international relations; I can’t remember what program, but it wasn’t Fullbright and my memory is a bit fuzzy from lack of sleep.

The best part about the drive from the airport to Tibilisi was that the road was named “George W. Bush Highway”!???? David (the Georgian guy that picked me up) said that they re-named it when W. came to visit and never changed it back. Pretty hilarious, I have to get pictures of it. I asked him if they could change it to Obama Highway.

There are churches EVERYWHERE. From my hotel balcony i can see at least ten, old, medival-looking churches. This morning I sat there drinking coffee and watched a choir sing in front of one church. I’m assuming it’s the polyphonic choir music I read about that is supposedly a big Georgian thing.

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

