Language School - Peru, Language School Programs

Cuzco is ON STRIKE!

by Rachel Chaikof

UGH!  Everytime I head overseas, I always experience a strike or a protest, something that I rarely experience in my own country.  They irritate me so much because they make life somewhat more difficult and sometimes dangerous.  Cuzco is ON STRIKE today and perhaps tomorrow. Today, when I went out to catch a taxi, it was almost impossible!  There were VERY few taxis today.  All the ones that I saw already had people in the car!  So, I decided to walk towards the school hoping that I could catch one on the way.  I did finally catch one after a half hour or so, and of course, it was more expensive than usual – S./ 5 .  It’s better than having no cab.  As I was walking, I saw a big line of police officers walking on the street and some streets being blocked by big rocks.  Unreal!  Of course I didn’t know what was going on, but I knew that something MAJOR had to be happening today. When I got to school, I asked a student what was going on and he said, “Strike on public transportation!”  Read more on Rachel’s Miss Travel Girl Blog…

About Greenheart Travel

CCI Greenheart Travel is personally invested in providing cultural immersion programs that change lives, advance careers and create leaders. We achieve this by partnering with organizations and governments overseas that empower their local communities through experiential learning and practical development. We provide others with the same positive travel experiences in which we ourselves engage. Through travel and cultural exchange, we help individuals reach their full potential, leading to a more tolerant, peaceful and environmentally sustainable world.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Cuzco is ON STRIKE!

  1. In Cusco yesterday (July 21, 2009), during the latest strike, I saw a rock throwing mob of 10 or 12 guys rush a cab with passengers and puncture the tires with screwdrivers. The passengers quickly got out of the cab and dispersed the scene. The cab split with one tire hissing and these guys charged the next cab. He was smart enough not to stop but still received a punctured tire as he rolled past. Two minutes later we saw a cab with its back window smashed out. It was an ugly scene.

    Posted by Mark | July 22, 2009, 10:40 am
    • Wow! Are staying in Cuzco at the moment or just traveling through? How is the general population reacting to the strikes right now? Thank you for taking a look at the blog and I wish you safe travels!

      Posted by Greenheart Travel | July 22, 2009, 11:39 am
      • Hi,

        I’ve been living in Cusco for a little over a year. The people I know say this stuff never happened under Fujimori who is beloved by the poorer people and not so much by those with money. He built a lot of schools in rural areas. President Alan Garica is busy selling out the Amazon and doesn’t care about the indigenous people. As you know Cusco lives and dies by tourism and the strikes are bad for that. Peru Rail honors all the strikes so that shuts down all tourist movement too. We also saw a large army truck with about 30 tourists standing in the back of it heading towards the center of town from the airport since there were no taxis in service. Be safe and maybe you should walk the next time there is a strike wherever you are.

        Posted by Mark | July 24, 2009, 1:57 pm

Leave a Reply

